The Earl’s Court Hotel Nainital was established in 1890 during the British reign in India and used to be the summer home of the British Army officer, Captain P. Richardson. When he passed away, his wife, a renowned painter, used to live here for many years. Before moving back to England, she sold the bungalow to an industrialist in the late 1970s. This industrialist converted the bungalow into a beautiful resort and today it stands as an outstanding example of colonial architecture in the lake district of Kumaon.
In 2006, The Earl’s Court Hotel Nainital was incorporated as part of Leisure Hotels Ltd. After its inception, the entire property was renovated. In August 2012, a new block of 24 rooms - deluxe and superior, was added to the property, taking it to a new level of luxury. Today the hotel is among the best luxury hotels in Nainital.